April’s Just Book It Book Club & Buddy Read Picks | 2020

Good evening everyone! If you’ve been following me on Instagram then you know I’ve been sick these past few days. If you’re stalking me/obsessed with my blog, you know I haven’t posted these past few days. I planned on doing so. My Tag Tuesday was just about finished. But then I couldn’t bring myself to get out of bed or do anything. Even now, I can’t talk. So it’s a good thing I’m a blogger 💁🏻‍♀️

But I couldn’t miss today’s post. I’m so excited to be posting this.

It’s time to announce the April Just Book It Book Club book!

So let’s just into that since I know that’s what you are all here for!


I’m going to also be mentioning the book that I chose for the April buddy read. I wanted to bring back doing a public buddy reads and I did one this month, but no no one joined. So I’m hoping announcing it a bit earlier, it’ll help some people to join in.

So I’ll announce the book club book first because that’s probably what you all are here for, but I hope you stay tuned to see what book I chose for the buddy read. If you haven’t seen on Instagram.

Here’s the book club book! You will have all of April to read it and join into some talks throughout Facebook and Goodreads to discuss it as you’re reading.

I haven’t posted it yet, but there will be a separate place to discuss the book on Goodreads. It’ll be broken down into three or four parts. Since the book itself is broken down into three parts, I may do the three parts and then somewhere to discuss the entire book overall.

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.

 

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.

 

It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

 

But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.

 

There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

Synopsis from Goodreads

I hope that you all can join in and either reread or read this book for the first time. The next book in this series is coming out at the end of the year and I believe it’s the final book. So make sure you’re joining into this read!


Now that that’s out of the way, let’s talk about the buddy read for April! I did already announce this on Instagram so if you’ve already seen that post, you know all of this already.

That’s right! The buddy read for April is Witches of Ash and Ruin. The buddy read will start on April 6th and will end on April 12th! Here is the breakdown and synopsis will be next but make sure you check out your local library or order it from your local bookstore!

That being said, here’s the breakdown.

April 6th: Chapters 1-10
7th: 11-20
8th: 21-30
9th: 31-40
10th: 41-50
11th: 51-60
12th: 61 to End

Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy and A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES.

Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic OCD; the aftermath of being outed as bisexual in her conservative Irish town; and the return of her long-absent mother, who barely seems like a parent. But all that really matters to her is ascending and finally, finally becoming a full witch-plans that are complicated when another coven, rumored to have a sordid history with black magic, arrives in town with premonitions of death. Dayna immediately finds herself at odds with the bewitchingly frustrating Meiner King, the granddaughter of their coven leader.

And then a witch turns up murdered at a local sacred site, along with the blood symbol of the Butcher of Manchester-an infamous serial killer whose trail has long gone cold. The killer’s motives are enmeshed in a complex web of witches and gods, and Dayna and Meiner soon find themselves at the center of it all. If they don’t stop the Butcher, one of them will be next.

With razor-sharp prose and achingly real characters, E. Latimer crafts a sweeping, mesmerizing story of dark magic and brutal mythology set against a backdrop of contemporary Ireland that’s impossible to put down.

Synopsis from Goodreads

And that’s going to be it for this one. I do hope you can join in one or both of these reads! I’m really excited for both of them!

Thanks so much for joining me and I’ll hopefully see you all tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.